Chakra Yoga Exploration Series

Chakras are the pillars of energy and vital centers which transmit the life force to various parts of the body through nadis. Just like we always want to maintain proper, functional and clear arteries so our blood can flows to all organs through them without any obstruction, we want our subtle body channels or the chakras to be clear and unblocked to allow our vital life force to flow through them without any imposition.


There are 7 main chakras that run along the central channel of the body, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. The chakras are vital energy centers in the subtle body and are often described as a roadmap to yourself. This exploration can be a way to connect with your inner body and perhaps get to know and understand yourself better.


We will journey through these major chakras, focusing on one each week. Each session will include a description of the components of the chakra, a yoga practice that includes postures corresponding to that specific chakra, as well as a related meditation and final relaxation. The last session includes an asana flow incorporating postures for each chakra. Suitable for all levels.


This workshop will be held in the Lotus Room beginning February 3rd, 2020. Class will be held from 11 am - 12:15 pm on 2/3, 2/10, 2/17, 2/24, 3/2, 3/9  & the final class on 3/16 will include a special flow that incorporates all the chakras.


Each class will include a description of the chakra, a posture flow, meditation, and final relaxation.

1st Chakra -- We begin at the bottom, setting the foundation. Explore your connection to the earth. Cultivate stability through asana, breath, meditation. You are safe, supported, grounded.

2nd Chakra -- The seat of creativity, pleasure, delight. We will explore this chakra with hip openers and forward folds. You are creative, secure in your own place, and joyful.

3rd Chakra -- The center of your personal power. Explore your strength and self-confidence with balance, warrior and plank poses. You are powerful and stronger than you think you are.

4th Chakra -- The energy center for experiencing love, compassion and self-acceptance. Open your heart to love and healing with chest-openers, back bends and breath expansion. You are radiant. Love and be loved.

5th Chakra -- This chakra governs your ability to express whats in your heart. Backbends and shoulder openers help us to speak our truth. Express yourself!

6th Chakra -- The center of awareness and intuition, wisdom and realization. Forward folds are contemplative and take us back into ourselves. You are wise. You have vision.


7th Chakra -- Center of deep wisdom and understanding. Boundaries dissolve. This class includes inversions and a flow incorporating poses relating to all 7 chakras---base to crown. You are awake, aware, divine.

February 3rd, 2020,

11 am - 12:15 pm

Cost: $25 per class or

$160 for the whole series