February 9, 2016


This month I am conducting a 3-day workshop on Shiatsu, which is ideal training for those who are Martial Artist, or Personal Trainers. Shiatsu is something I was required to learn when I was training for my black belt in martial arts.


I thought there might be some of you who would like to know more of the background of Shiatsu. 

Shiatsu is a Japanese form of bodywork in which the therapist uses finger and palm pressure to help clear and open energetic pathways, or meridians, in order to improve the flow of Qi  ( pronounced CHI), in our bodies.


Shiatsu originated in Japan and traditional Chinese medicine, and has been widely practiced around the world since the 1970's. Shiatsu literally means finger pressure, which describes the technique we use. In shiatsu therapy, pressure with thumbs, hands, elbows, knees of get is applied to the pressure points on the body. This form of massage also focuses on rotating and stretching limbs, joints, and pressure points, or meridians, as they are know in traditional Chinese medicine.


Eastern medicine has a completely different perspective on health; the body is what is needed for healing. The West approaches illnesses and disease as problems which need to be fixed with the remedy usually in the form of a pill, or an operation. Often times, the results of such treatments serve only to mask the pain, not getting to the root of what has actually caused the problem.


Eastern medicine, the theory behind shiatsu is that our bodies are made up of energy, called qi (pronounced CHI), and that energy sometimes the flow of energy gets blocked and that is what ultimately causes pain. Shiatsu massage helps to remove blockages but realigning meridian points which balances the qi and eases the body and mind. When one balances the qi or vital energy, healing occurs in the body. The nervous and immune systems are both stimulated by applying pressure to the meridians, providing relief for both body and mind. Shiatsu also restores the circulatory system, improving blood flow throughout the body.


The body has twelve meridians, named according to it’s corresponding organ:

  1. lung

  2. large intestine

  3. stomach

  4. spleen

  5. heart

  6. small intestine

  7. bladder

  8. kidney

  9. heart

  10. governor

  11. triple heater

  12. gall Bladder and liver


The functions of these organs have a broader definition in Eastern medicine than what we learn from Western medicine. And that is some of what will be addressed in my upcoming class.


Please reload

Featured Posts

Synergy Shiatsu System Level I Workshop

January 19, 2016

Please reload

Recent Posts